Open House

Spend the morning meeting faculty, students and see our beautiful 125 acre campus! Monday, January 18 9:00am – 12:00pm

Forman News

14 Students Inducted into National Honor Society
Posted 04/26/2017 11:13AM

Fourteen Forman students were inducted into the National Honor Society during morning assembly on Monday, April 24. New members of the prestigious group were honored in a traditional ceremony. 

Faculty and staff who are also NHS members began the processional, followed by current and newly inducted NHS students. NHS leaders at the School participated in the traditional candle lighting as they described the qualities of scholarship, service, leadership, and character, which are considered when adding new members to the organization. Beyond exemplifying these qualities, NHS students are active in school programs such as community service, athletics, and the arts.

When the inductees were announced, each received the customary cords and went on to light a candle, symbolizing his or her dedication to this new post. Together, the group read the NHS Pledge aloud:

“I pledge myself to uphold the high purposes of the National Honor Society to which I have been selected; I will be true to the principles for which it stands; I will be loyal to my school; and I will maintain and encourage high standards of scholarship, service, leadership, and character.”

Head of School Adam K. Man congratulated the students on not only excelling academically, but in their personal character.

Formed in 1921, the NHS recognizes scholastically outstanding secondary school students. It was modeled after Phi Beta Kappa, the undergraduate collegiate honor society in the United States. As a recognized local chapter of the international organization, Forman School is required to abide by the NHS Constitution and to have its own written by-laws.

Congratulations to our new NHS members; may you light your candles for the world to see.

2017 National Honor Society Inductees:

Emily Chandler ’18

Collin Combs ’18

Mia Donahue ’18

Allison Eakman ’17

Jason Epstein ’18

Samantha Feuerstein ’17

Mee Mee Filan ’17

Sarah Kothari ’18

Kseniya Kotova ’18

Caroline Mahan ’18

Silvanna Najri Saladin ’17

Courtney Schullery ’18

Matthew Sherman ’17

Brendan Wilson ’18

For photos from the ceremony, click here.

Watch the video of Mr. Man’s remarks here.

For more information, please visit or the NHS official website at


Forman School
12 Norfolk Road, P.O. Box 80, Litchfield, CT 06759
Phone: 860.567.8712
Fax: 860.567.8317


Forman School is a coeducational, preparatory boarding and day school for grades 9-PG exclusively dedicated to empowering bright students who learn differently.




powered by finalsite