News Post

Forman Welcomes New Faculty
Forman Welcomes New Faculty

Forman was happy to welcome eight new faces to its community last week, as the new faculty members arrived on campus for professional development and training. English Teacher and resident New Faculty Mentor, Bill Bucklin, was excited for the opportunity to get to know them. "Forman looks for new faculty and staff with a strong vision of why education matters and a willingness to be part of a team serving students with diverse learning needs," Bill stated. "This year's new hires are remarkable both for the strength of their backgrounds and for their strikingly positive energy as they begin their Forman careers." 

Learn more about the new faculty members below

  • A graduate of the University of the South, Arlis Adrian Astudillo became a part of the Mathematics department as a teacher. He's bringing with him experience working as a Teachers Assistant and a Mathematics Lab Assistant.
  • Science Teacher Claire Benning joined the Forman faculty after graduating from Brown University with an Environmental Studies degree. Forman is excited to have her join the athletic program, as well, as an Assistant Rowing Coach. During the time Claire was on the rowing team at Brown, they competed in the NCAA National Championships and were ranked top 10 in the nation for 2016-2018. Her boat also received a gold medal in the Head Of The Charles Regatta for both 2015 and 2016. 
  • Mary (Molly) Gnibus will be a part of the Forman faculty as an English Teacher. With a degree in English Literature and Secondary Education from Marist College, Molly has a rich background working with students of all ages. 
  • Forman's Cognition and Learning Department is excited to welcome Sarah Kelleher to it's teaching staff. Sarah has a Masters in Education specializing in Secondary ELA/Special Education from Johns Hopkins University. She is a dedicated and skilled teacher who is passionate about engaging all students within the classroom.
  • Eileen Kelly-Aguirre became a part of the Forman Faculty in the role of Director of Studies. Eileen has had over 30 years of experience in multiple facets of school life, including boarding school and study abroad administration positions, as well as a teacher role. Most notably, she oversaw both academics and faculty for almost two decades at The Gunnery, a private school in Washington, CT, and was appointed the first female Executive Director of School Year Abroad. 
  • Forman's new Director of Library Services & Educational Technology Facilitator Michele Mongeau has been a part of local school system Litchfield Public Schools for nearly 20 years in multiple roles, including teacher, Library Media Specialist, and Director of Special Services. With an MA in Education and an MLS in Library Science, she is a dedicated, skilled, and enthusiastic educator who is understanding of every student's individual strengths and needs for support. Michele will also be a part of Forman's Art Department, as a Metalsmithing Teacher.
  • Dr. Maryellen Ruth joined the Forman community as the new School Psychologist. Maryellen brings with her over 10 years of experience in the field and is a licensed Psychologist in the state of CT, with training concentrations in forensic and neuropsychology. She is a member of the American Psychological Association. 
  • Graduating from The College of Wooster with a B.A. in Studio Arts and a minor in Education, Carolyn Webster will be joining Forman's Art Department this fall. Carolyn studied abroad at The Glasgow School of Art, and has spent many years working as a Student Teacher. She is passionate about education and the art of teaching. 

On Thursday, August 22, the new members of the Forman Community were able to get to know their new colleagues at a Faculty and Staff Potluck on the Forman Green. Passing storms couldn't stop the event, as a quick location change to the Peirce Dining Hall gave everyone the chance to properly welcome the new Forman Faculty to the beautiful campus.

Please join us in welcoming these new faculty and staff members; we all look forward to a positive and productive 2019-2020 school year!